Tags

, , , , , ,

Have you ever noticed that when you learn something new, something you have never seen nor heard of before, you start seeing references to what you have just learned everywhere? My question has always been, “Have those references always been there in front of your eyes, or are they suddenly there to reinforce your knowledge, or is it a coincidence, or what?

I am constantly amazed at how often events of our lives appear to “sync up.”  I don’t know why, after all these years, such a thing should still amaze me.  But it does. The 4MinuteWriter was blogging recently about going with the flow, and letting life take care of itself.  Try, at least occasionally, to let life have its own way and just go with the flow.  Stop trying to plan the course of each minute as though the clock were your own invention! Not everything has to make sense!

What interests me is that in retrospect, almost all of it does!  Make sense, I mean.  Of course, the infuriating part of all this “flow” and “synchronicity” is that we don’t have a glimpse of it beforehand!  It seems to me that when random events occur in our life, those  things that seem to come at as all at once from left field, God ought to be able to give us at least a little hint, in advance, as to how all will work out well and that we will be all the better for the experience.  I  “know that in all things God works for the good of those who love (God), who have been called according to (God’s) purpose.” (Romans 8:28, NIV) I just would appreciate it if I could be let in on the mechanics of it all.  I argue with God about this all the time.  I mean, life would be so much easier and less stressful if we recognized the plan before we executed it.  However, at least at this point in my life I have come to see that this will happen only rarely if at all.

But oh!  When that precognition of the synchronicity of life happens – what magic!  If it has ever happened to you, you know what I’m writing about.  In the movie “Signs,” one of my all-time favorites, Mel Gibson’s character, Graham, a former pastor, has lost his faith in everything because he cannot understand why his wife died, a victim of a freak accident.  Through flashbacks shown in brief moments throughout the film, we are let in on some final moments in her life. Her final request of her husband is that he open his eyes, that he “sees.”  When we become aware of how all things can work together, regardless of the things that happen in our lives, then we are able to move forward with less trepidation and with more confidence in the future.  Here is a scene from “Signs” that takes place in the final minutes of the film.  Is life just a crap-shoot, or are there really no coincidences?

SPOILER ALERT! For those who have not seen this film, then please do not watch this scene.  Rent the movie, watch it, then watch this scene.  It’s best to build up to this climactic moment. I have embedded it here for those who know the movie and might enjoy a brief reminder about the theme of the movie.

Have a wonderful week. If we all will open our eyes, and see, it will be enough. . .

Click here for some Last Words

