Tags

, , , , ,

Andalib, of A Nightingale’s Blog, has been posting lately on “The Seven Deadly Sins” – one sin per day!  Wouldn’t it be great if we could all just keep it to that?  Her entries are fun reads, and thought-provoking, too!  Can’t get much better than that!

On a recent comment to Andi I asked if she had ever heard of “The Seven Deadly Virtues” – a wonderful song from the musical “Camelot,” by Lerner and Loewe. I told her I would find the link to the original version – sung by Roddy McDowell – Broadway’s original “Mordred,” so you will find it embedded below.  It’s just the music and lyrics, so at least you get his voice, but unfortunately you don’t get to see his stage antics – which were wonderful! He was a very versatile actor – his entire life!  From a young boy in such films as “How Green Was My Valley,” and “Lassie,” to “Planet of the Apes” and many more.  If you ever saw him on talk shows, he was also a great raconteur.

In addition to promising Andi that link, I also promised to search for a downloadable recording of Lotte Lenya singing “The Seven Deadly Sins” by Kurt Weill and Bertolt Brecht.  In German, it is “Die Sieben Todsünden,” and is among the very best of Weill/Brecht collaborations.  Lotte Lenya was the vocalist of choice of Weill, and much of her reputation was created by performing his works – including “Die Dreigroschen Oper,” (The Three Penny Opera – remember Mack the Knife?).  She was a mega-star in the 30’s, 40’s, and 50’s.  Her voice is unique, and very much suited to the music she sang.  I found the recording of the “Sins,” and did download it – in it’s entirety, as well as finding the English translation of the lyrics.  I am very familiar with that work, as I performed it myself in college – in German at UConn, and in English at Emory & Henry, where I presented only a portion of it.  It took me longer to learn the English than the German!

I mention this to you all because I am willing to share this  recording and translation with any of you who would like to hear and have it.  E-mail* me your e-mail address, and I will figure out a way of getting it to you.  It’s at times a wonderful work, and always a fascinating one, and very funny in its own way – particularly as the setting is in the deep South of the USA!

So – read Andi’s blog, and enjoy the following wonderfully witty song from Camelot!  (The embed will take you to the YouTube link.)

It’s enough. . .

*My e-mail address:  paulatc@hotmail.com

