Tags

, , , , ,

Driving home from Asheville on Saturday evening, Ashley and I had the great good fortune to hear the following audio clip on “The Prairie Home Companion.”  PHC is one of my favorite all-time radio programs.  It is consistently entertaining – I could not recommend it higher if I tried! (And I have!)  It is presented live on Saturday evenings from 6-8 p.m. (EST) on your own public radio station. (Most of them, anyway. If yours doesn’t – call and request it!) The host and writer, Garrison Keillor, always has some wonderful guest musicians on the show – covering all genres – as well as a regular team of musicians, actors, and his very own sound effects man!  Lake Woebegone, Minnesota is a wonderful place to visit – you might not want to live there, but you’ll enjoy and come to know many of the people who do, and you’ll want to go back and visit often. In our area, Saturday’s program is replayed on Sunday afternoons, so if you miss it Saturday, you get another chance to listen.  I can taste those “Powdermilk Biscuits” now – from the “big blue box.”  I also have a hankering to drop in at “Aunt Bertha’s Kitty Boutique,” and “Ralph’s Pretty Good Grocery” (if they don’t have it, you probably don’t need it anyway!).

Last Saturday was the annual “Joke Show,” in which various one-liners, riddles, and other jokes comprise the bulk of the program.  This year my favorite joke was:

Q:  How is a marriage like a deck of cards?
A:  You start out with  diamonds and  hearts, and end up with  clubs and  spades!

Also featured on the show was a perfectly wonderful piano solo, arranged and performed by Richard Dworsky, called  “Another Carnival of the Animals.”  I hope you enjoy it as much as Hubs and I did.  BTW, how many of the animals can you name from the short musical cues?  First time around, we got all except two – second time we listened, we got them all!  So here goes:

http://www.publicradio.org/tools/media_player/popup.php?name=phc/2011/01/22/phc_20110122_64&starttime=00:29:05.0&endtime=00:33:00.0

So, even though my weekend was pretty miserable, Saturday I got to visit my little Zoë, (BTW, I’ve posted some newer photos of her on my “Zoë Land” page) AND I was  entertained royally by Garrison Keillor and company!  It was truly enough. . .

