Tags

, , ,

"The Lovers," Pablo Picasso, 1923

(To all Gooseberry Garden readers:  I just realized that I had submitted this one before, so please forgive the repeat – it does fit with the theme though!  Thanks for your indulgence.  PTC -10/10/2011)

If I could define my love
© Paula Tohline Calhoun 2011

I cannot set aside a day, nor a moment, not one hour
For this sweet celebration, my spiritual annuity.
This expression of true feelings is perennial, its flower
Returns and blooms again in perpetuity.

My heart will not be limited, by space nor circumstance.
My love is not contained, it has no boundaries.
My heart shall not be trapped in some random dance,
A brief, last-minute waltz, stepped out upon a breeze.

Secret and proclaimed, it fills each mental corner,
My passions woven, strong, through all my will.
Choosing not to be divided, a designated mourner
For some dwindling never-after, careless thought can kill.

Not frivolous, nor superfluous, but elegantly shining –
Meticulously crafted, and freely improvised,
Amazing, everlasting, open, unconfining
Love that has no definition; accepted, realized

Enough. . . 

