Tags

, , ,

Sidey’s weekend theme is “Métier.”  Wide open, that theme is. . .what on earth shall I write for this one?  Your guess is perhaps a good as mine.  Some of your guesses are probably better!  Nevertheless, here goes. . .

Square Peg considers her métier, and ponders the alternatives
©2011 Paula Tohline Calhoun

“I wonder,” said  Square Peg to the hole,
“Are you the space for me?”
“It depends,” said the hole, and added,
“Give me a try, and see!”
“From what I observe of your configuration
Whether I’ll fit is in doubt!”
Said Peg to hole. The hole responded,
“If you’re just looking, you’ll never find out!”
“But you don’t understand,” whined  Peg, in defense,
“I’m a square, I’m not shaped for you!”
“Pegs can change, you could adapt!”
Said the hole, “If you wanted to!”  
“Besides,” hole added, ” ‘fitting in’ is not always
just what it’s cracked up to be.
There is a certain ‘je ne sais quoi’
In a life of non-conformity!”
Quietly, Square Peg pondered
The ways of a well-rounded life:
“Perhaps, with the aid of a hammer,
And some whittling from a knife,
I’ll find, once I live awhile in the round,
And I put my old habits behind me,
Though life won’t be perfect, I’ll never be bored
If I’ll let go the square ties that bind me.”

We all have our métier – that place where we feel we belong, where we find filfillment, where we are most comfortable.  But I wonder sometimes if the place we find ourselves in – the place where we have made ourselves comfortable – might not be the best place for us.  Sometimes reaching beyond our comfort zones takes us to places we did not even imagine existed, and opens our eyes to wonders we never dreamed.  If your métier feels cozy and comfortable, that is a good thing, I suppose; but have you ever thought about spending your life in another place, doing something else – living in a way that might require  you to do something you think you cannot do?  Could you stretch beyond your own prescribed stretching point?  This square peg has occasionally browsed through the available round holes, and wondered, “Could I fit in?”

Just thinking. . .

Enough. . .

