Tags

, ,

A couple of things have come up when commenting on other blogs recently.  For one thing, Nancy, of Spirit Lights the Way,  posted a photo that Jeanne of FlyingGma had of a flower she needed a name for.  It looked a lot like a mimosa to me – at least the flower part did.  The leaves were a bit different.  Here’s the photo that Nancy put up for her:

© flyinggma, http://www.flyinggma.wordpress.com and flyinggma.com, 2010

The flowers are very similar to the mimosa of my memory.  Here’s a photo of a tree like I remember (BTW they are very prevalent all over this part of NC now too):

Here’s  close-up of the leaves on “my” mimosa tree:

These are decidedly different from the ones in Jeanne’s photo Nancy showed us.  Whatever – they are very pretty trees, especially when in bloom, and around here, our mimosa trees bloom all summer long.  I suppose we could say the Mimosas bloom year ’round if you can manage to drink them year round too – then everything will seem to be in bloom, I think! 😀

Another flower I mentioned to Nancy in a recent comment is the “Five-o’clock.” That’s what we called them – they are also commonly called “Four-o’clock” flowers, and I always used to look forward to blooming time so I could make chain bracelets and/or necklaces with the blossoms.  We snapped off the flowers at the blossom end, and inserted the narrow end into the open “bell-end” of the flower until we came up with a string long enough for our purposes.  The jewelry lasted for quite a long time considering its fragility.  Making flower jewelry is a happy memory from my childhood.  I suspect my mother taught me how to do it, but I don’t remember learning – I only remember making them,  It has been a long time though,  more years than I care to remember.

The flowers came in several shades of pink lilac, and white, as evidenced in this photo of some white four-o’-clocks:

Maybe this post wasn’t as quick as I had intended, but it did bring back some sweet memories of my childhood.  BTW – it was our tradition back in the day for everyone to wear a flower on Mother’s Day.  If your mother was alive, you wore a flower that was of some shade of red, pink, or lavender. etc.  If she was deceased, you wore a white flower.  I don’t know how regional that tradition was/is.  Do any of you remember or still practice such a tradition?  Since oleander were blossoming around Mother’s Day each year, we generally chose to wear a sprig from either the pink or white tree from our yard.  I’ll close with a photo of some  oleander trees.  (Since the tree is poisonous, they are definitely blossoms meant to look at, but not to eat! LOL!).

Hope your Mother’s Day was practically perfect in every way!  In other words, enough. . .

 

 

