Tags

, , , ,

. . .is that hardly anyone gets out of it alive.” – Robert A. Heinlein

I was driving to a Dr.’s appointment this morning and I found one of the best bits of irony that I have seen in a long time.  Since I was driving I could not take a photograph, but I will describe it to you.

I was directly behind a large cargo truck that was carrying about eight horses (in air-conditioned comfort).  The sign on the back of the truck was:

§

Wells Fargo
§
Horse Transportation, Inc 

If you don’t see the irony in that, I worry about you, but let me know, I’ll clue you in.

I found another ironic tidbit one day last year, all wrapped up in one word: “Mispelled”

In search of other examples of irony, I have decided that as far as comedic irony goes, Steven Wright is probably one of the best in the business.  Not all of his one liners are ironic, but many are.  I’ve included some samples of his wit below.  Interestingly enough I discovered that one of his musings is one that had occurred to me as well:  “Is there a synonym for thesaurus?” (Maybe not exactly ironic by definition, but funny all the same.)

“At one point he decided enough was enough.”  (Now why would I remember that one?)

“Do Lipton employees take coffee breaks?”

“Ever notice how irons have a setting for permanent press?”

“Why are there interstate highways in Hawaii?”

“I put instant coffee in a microwave oven and almost went back in time.” (OK, it’s not ironic, either, but you’re laughing, right?)

“Why isn’t “phonetically” spelled with an “f?”

“Why are there five syllables in “monosyllabic?”

Feel free to send me some of your favorites. I’ve got some more of my own, but I’ll save them for another time.  This being “Funny Friday,” I’ll cheer you all up by limiting this post to just over 300 words!  That will have to be . . .

ahhh. . .you knew I couldn’t leave it at that, didn’t you?  One more:  “Is it possible to be totally partial?” (That’s oxymoronic, I know!)

enough. . .

