Tags

, ,

Last week was an “A” word – do you remember it?  Have you had occasion to use it in the past week?  Perhaps you have seen examples of a plant that has amplexicaul stem/leaves!

Since I started with last week with “a,” this week let’s learn a word from column “B.”

This week’s word is bifarious: bī·FÂR·ĭ·ŭs. adj. [L. bifarius, fr. bi- + fari to speak.] 1. Rare. Twofold. 2. Pointing two ways, as opposite leaves. –bi·FARi·ous·ly, adv.

Pointing two ways is the way that I have heard this word used, and what immediately came to mind was the following photo (which I quite obviously, did not “snap” myself):

I thought the word might have a relationship with “nefarious.”  Perhaps nefarious would be going or pointing the wrong way.  However, I find that there is no relationship between the two words. Nefarious comes from the Latin word nefas – crime, wrong, which is a combination of ne – not + fas – divine law.

So today you got a bonus word.  If you don’t know the word “nefarious,” then look it up yourself!  In the meantime, find a way to slip bifarious into your next conversation with family or friends!

Have a great Wednesday!  I wish you all, my Gentle Readers, the abundance of enough. . .

(wc 213)

(Words and definitions for my “Wednesday’s Word and Picture” posts are most often found at the following highly-recommended site:  Phrontistery )

