Tags

, , , , , , ,

A couple of weeks ago we had a visitor, Hubs, and my Muse and I.  Ashley came inside after work one day and told me that a little pup was nosing around our yard, and had parked herself by our garage door.  She had been there in the morning when he left for work, and was still there when he returned.  “Does she have a collar and tags?” I asked.  Ashley answered, “No.”  We wondered if she was lost, or was a victim of “dumping,” an all-too-common practice, and one to which we owe our thanks for two of our kitties over the years. Both our dear Bobby and our current feline owner, Justin, were foundlings.  Whoever let them go, either by accident or on purpose, missed out on two wonderful and amazing companions.

In an effort to encourage the little one to hopefully find its home – assuming she was lost – we decided not to feed her, as we knew that she would stay for sure; we did put out a bowl of water for her, however.  Ashley and I were in a quandary.  We knew that if she stuck around for another day, that the chances of her making the decision to stay would be big. Adding to our concern – she was absolutely adorable, and completely submissive and sweet.  She craved our attention, and wanted love. Although initially wary of our hands, she would roll over on her back and thoroughly enjoy a scritch on her tummy, and she got to the point of running up to greet us when we went outside, her tail wagging for all its worth!  We wanted her – very much.  We knew that we could not afford – financially – to keep her and care for her in the manner she and all God’s creatures deserved.

We have a local “no-kill” shelter, “Sarge’s,” which I called to check if anyone had reported a missing pup.  She appeared to be quite young – certainly less than a year, but she likely would be a small dog.  She was quite thin, but did not seem to be starving, so she had not long been away from a source of food and care.  She had no fleas, and gave all appearances of being in good health.  And she was dear, so dear.  A call to the shelter and we learned that she must first be taken to the local pound.  If after five days she had not been claimed by the owner, Sarge’s agreed to take her in and find her a home.  Otherwise, the pound would have had her euthanized – which would surely be a crime in our opinion.  Sarge’s promised, at my pleading, that if they could not find her a home rather quickly, that we would foster her until a home was found.  In that way, Sarge’s bears the costs of veterinary care, including having her spayed and giving her all the necessary immunizations.  We would only be responsible for feeding her and providing shelter.  She promised to call me if they could not find her a home, (and also if they did), within the next month.  Once she laid eyes on her, though, she was as hooked as we were, and she assured me that a home would easily be found for such a sweet pup.

No call yet.  My Muse “Poly,” oddly enough, been musing. . .

So long a road to travel, I wonder where it leads?
Will it take me to a place
of safety and shelter, a home that warms,
with people to hold within their arms
my loving heart and friendly face?

What will I find when the day is through:
A family to defend?
A chance to give them my very best –
to give my thanks, to know I’m blessed
to be, and have a friend?

Keep your fingers crossed, my Gentle Readers. My Muse and I are wishing for our foundling all the sweet blessings of enough. . .

(wc 656)

