Tags

, , , , ,

Late getting this up today – but where I live, it’s still Friday!  The following Fab Factoids/Tips are some I gathered from the print media.  Did that because so many do their reading online, I thought maybe I’d post a few that perhaps you haven’t read!  Also, in order to include my friends outside of the USA, I have given tips that work anywhere! (At least I think)  In addition, I have included metric conversions where applicable, and indicated the US Dollar to the British Pound equivalents.  Those living outside Great Britain or the US can go to http://www.oanda.com/currency/converter/ to find your local equivalents.

Sorry guys!  Unless you apply nail polish to your finger/toe nails, the following little trick isn’t for you.  Scroll down to Tip #2.

**********

Tip #1:  FIX A CHIP IN YOUR NAIL POLISH
This sounds like a process that would take as long as a complete manicure, but I have tried it, and it really is an easy and fairly quick fix!  (BTW – you will need to use the same color polish to repair with as the color you are repairing!  Duh!)

a.  Pour a few drops of polish remover into a small bowl.  Dab the pad of your index finger into the remover so your finger is damp – not drenched.
b.  Press that finger directly on the chip you wish to repair, then lift.  Let it dry for about 10 seconds.
c.  With the same finger, gently nudge the polish still on the nail forward toward the edge of the nail – this should smooth out the ridge made by the chip.  Let it dry for 1 minute.
d.  Take the brush out of your nail polish and dab a TINY bit of polish directly on the nick.  Let dry for 1 minute.
e.  If the chip is still visible, then apply a very thin layer of polish over the entire nail.
f.  Seal the edge of the nail by brushing over the tip.
g.  Wait a minute then brush on a clear topcoat.  Let it dry for at least 5 minutes.

TIP #2 – MAKE CUT FLOWERS LAST!
Guys!  You should know how to do this, too!  You can always have those flowers you bring home to your wife, or give to your girlfriend, already in a vase – ready to display!

a.  If you are cutting the flowers from the garden yourself, cut them in the early morning or evening – that’s when they retain the most moisture.  When you get them inside submerge the stems in room-temp water.
b.  Make certain the vase you are putting your flowers into is thoroughly clean, then fill it with tepid water.  If you got your flowers from a florist’s shop, then you can add some of the “flower preservative,” or what I do is add a drop of bleach and 1/2 cup (.12 liter) of clear non-diet(with sugar) soda per quart (@ 1 liter) of H20.
c.  Strip off any of the lower leaves that will be submerged in water from the stem.  Under running water (if possible), cut the bottoms of the stems at a 45 degree angle.
d.  Arrange your flowers in the vase – without overcrowding.  Place your vase of flowers in a bright but not direct light, away from heat or air conditioners.  Occasionally re-cut the ends and replace the water (don’t just add water) as needed.

TIP #3 – A TERRIFIC “GREEN” CLEANING SOLUTION
Use this as a great foamy cleaner for tub and tile surfaces, and for whitening your grungy tile grout.

Mix 1 cup (.25 liter) white vinegar with 1/2 cup (.12 liter) baking soda and 2 tablespoons (30 ml) of a chemical-free dishwashing liquid (such as Seventh Generation Natural Dish Liquid).  Try it – you’ll like it!

DID YOU KNOW. . .?
If you received a weekly allowance from your parents in 1978 of $5.00, (£GBP 3.26), in order to give your kids a comparable amount today, you would have to give them $16.72 (that’s almost £GBP 11)! For other allowance conversions – go to: http://www.threejars.com/allowance_calculator.html  My, my, my – where does the money grow?

In the 18th century a Russian peasant set the record for the most children born to one mother:  69 (Yes, that’s sixty-nine.)  She gave birth to 16 pairs of twins, 7 sets of triplets, and 4 sets of quadruplets.  Good grief!  No singletons?  I would guess that any woman who managed to give birth to that many children (remember – no epidural, no drugs, no nothing, except a midwife, maybe, although I don’t doubt that by the time she got to #50, she didn’t even go into labor – the kids just dropped out while she was  standing at the kitchen stove) might have lived to the ripe old age of 29.  But she felt like she was 97 years old, so it all works out. . .

**********

So there you have it – some stuff that maybe you didn’t know before reading this.  Maybe you didn’t even want to know it!  For instance, I seldom polish my nails any more.  It’s very hard to do one’s left hand if one is without a functioning right hand! (Or vice-versa!).  I could spend the money on a salon manicure, but nah!  Waste of money for me – but when I had a job away from home, I used to do my nails frequently! (Never my toenails, though. . .I don’t know why!)

My Gentle Readers – I wish you now, more than ever, enough. . .

(wc 870)

