Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Despite my pleas, spring has sprung!

(wc 675)

Here’s the next set of indispensable and vital information you didn’t know you couldn’t live without!

***************

1. In one day, a human sheds 10 billion skin flakes.  This amounts to approximately two kilograms (approximately 4 pounds) in a year. Of course what that doesn’t tell you is that most of us cannot count that as a net loss each year because according to Fact #3, we add a lot more skin than we lose.

2.  On average, 35 meters (38 yards, or 114 feet!) of hair fiber is produced on the adult scalp.  This amount of hair is probably heavy enough to add to our yearly weight gain.  Therefore I suggest you folks with a weight problem, always cut your hair before weighing in at the end of the year.

3.  On average, Americans eat 100 acres (approx. 40.5 hectares) of pizza a day.  This amounts to about 350 slices per second.  That is not including Nancy Hatch, who freely admits to the fact that she would increase the American average by at least a couple of acres (if not more), were her individual consumption added to the equation.

4.  A sneeze zooms out of your mouth at over 600 miles per hour (966 kilometers per hour).  That means that drivers on the Autobahn in Germany can actually outrun their sneezes.

5.  The longest (one-word) town-/place-name in the world has 167 letters.  Now this is a fact that I had to vet for myself, so I went hunting.  My first thought was, “It must be in Wales,” a country long known for its interesting and complicated language – as well as its Prince (who is also interesting and complicated, plus other things). I found that the longest town name in Wales, however, does not come even close to 167 letters.  Count for yourself:

 “Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwyll-llantysiliogogogoch”  

The translation, if you leave out spaces, (which is what the Welsh do, apparently) is considerably longer:

“ThechurchofSaintMaryinthehollowofwhitehazeltreesneartherapidwhirlpoolbySaint Tysiliosoftheredcave”

The Welsh have long claimed this name as the longest.  But I have come across the name of a hill in New Zealand, that is longer, letter-wise (in Maori):

Taumatawhakatangihangakoauauotamateapokaiwhenuakitanatahu

The translation, in English:

“TheplacewhereTamateathemanwiththebigkneeswhoslidclimbedandswallowed mountainsknownaslandeaterplayedhisflutetohislovedone”

As my source says, this reads as more of a short story than a place-name, so it is optional as to whether we count this one in the competition. And I read where there is no photographic evidence of a sign naming the hill as such, so that name is more hearsay than fact.

But I believe the prize (according to the Guiness Book of World Records – and who wouldn’t believe a world renown brewery’s word?) – goes to the name of Bangkok, Thailand in its transcribed-to-western-alphabet form:

“Krungthepmahanakonbowornratanakosinmahintarayudyayamahadiloponopara tanarajthaniburiromudomrajniwesmahasatarnamornpimarnavatarsatitsakattiyavis anukamphrasit”

That comes to 155 letters – still 12 letters short of my first source’s total. Which goes to prove you should never trust the internet.  Trusting me is optional, but I encourage it.  I am still looking for that mythical town-/place-name with 167 letters.  If any of you find it, please let me know.

I know you have been longing to know the translation of Bangkok’s name.  It’s actually more of a history lesson than a name, but here goes:

“Thelandofangelsthegreatcityofvariousofdivinegemsthegreatangelicland unconquerablelandofninenoblegemstheroyalcitythepleasantcapitalplaceofthegrand royalpalaceforeverlandofangelsandreincarnatedspiritspredestinedandcreatedbythehighestdevas”

As my source says, there is no sign at the entrance to Bangkok to prove this, so this is another questionable name.  According to this manner of naming a place, I bet I could make Waynesville, North Carolina (my current home town) a lot longer than any of the aforementioned.  So, here’s my entry to the Guiness Book of Records for the longest town-/place-name in the world:

WaynesvilleavilleintheSmokeymountainsinwesternNorthCarolinanamedfor
amannamedWayneIpresumebutcouldnotsayforsurebecauseIhavenotresearcheditbutinanycaseitisabeautifullittletownandthe countyseatofHaywoodCountyandisthehomeofthecommunityofLakeJunaluskaamanmadelakethatwasetablishedby thesoutheasternJurisdictionoftheUnitedMethodistChurchasacenterofrestrelaxation educationrejuvenationandretreatandalsothelocationofmanyoftheannualconferencesinthe southeasternJurisdictionoftheUnitedethodistChurchbecauseithasfacilitieslargeenough toaccommodatethehundredsorthousandsofclergyandlaymembersofeachconferencewhoattendtheseconferencesannually.

That is my abbreviated name for Waynesville, no translation necessary, and it comes to 632 letters (by my own quick count, anyway!) – easily the longest, one-word town-/place-name in the world.  I had to abbreviate it so it could fit on the sign I am placing at the entrance to the town so we can actually prove that is our official name – for the sake of the World Record.  I do hope they spell my name correctly.

*************** 

I’m still looking for that 167-letter town-/place-name.  But I will keep looking for it.  Until I find it, as far as FFF goes for this week, this will have to be enough. . . 

