Tags

, , , ,

(wc 368)

“I wonder, as I wander, out under the sky,
Why Jesus our Savior did come for to die,
For poor, or’nary people like you and like I?
I wonder, as I wander, out under the sky.”
~~(The first verse of an Appalachian Christmas carol, “I Wonder as I Wander”) 

So, Sidey’s weekend theme is “Wonder.”  I wonder why she chose that theme? She says that her “two girls” suggested it, but I wonder. . .

Anyway, the first thing that came to mind was the song quoted above.  One of my favorite Christmas carols, and you all should hear my Hubs sing it!  Very special.

But then, I started to wonder about wondering.  I remembered a lot of things that I have often wondered about, so in a direct departure from the serious wondering nature of the carol, I started wondering about some of the ordinary curiousities of life.  Perhaps you can add to these:

Did you ever wonder. . .

. . .why we play in recitals, and recite in plays?
. . .why whether you sit up or sit down, the result is the same?
. . .why airline flights are called non-stop?  Don’t they all stop eventually?
. . .what is the speed of dark?
. . .do vegetarians eat animal crackers?
. . .why we park in driveways, and drive on parkways?
. . .if olive oil comes from olives, what does baby oil come from?
. . .if one synchronized swimmer drowns, does the rest of the team have to drown too?
. . .if parsley farmers default on their taxes, are their wages garnished?
. . .if the government knew when they named the Internal Revenue Service, it would most often be referred to as The IRS?  In another word, THEIRS?
. . .if pro is the opposite of con, then is progress the opposite of congress?
. . .why do you press remote control buttons harder when the battery is dead?
. . .if Barbie is so popular, why do we have to buy her friends?
. . .if illiterate people ever really “get” alphabet soup?
. . .if the #2 pencil is the most popular, why is it still #2?
. . .if vegetarians eat vegetables, what do humanitarians eat?
. . .if white wine goes with fish, do white grapes go with sushi?

I’ve got about a million more “I wonder’s”, but for now, this will be enough. . .

