Tags

, , , , ,

Yesterday was April Fool’s Day.  It has been a favorite day of my family for as long as I can remember.

I did not play a single prank yesterday.  Has to be the first time in my life that I have not made at least an attempt.  The odd thing is, no one in my family tried to “get” me either!  Which has to make the absence of a prank one of the best pranks we have pulled off (without my Mom’s help)!  I don’t expect to be able to make that one work again, any time soon.

My Mom died March 28, 2001.  Her memorial service was held – in God’s perfect timing – on April 1, and it so happens that eleven years ago, the first of April also fell on a Sunday.  I delighted in many happy memories yesterday, and I wept only briefly for want of one more moment with her.  I could not cry for long – all my memories are so joyous and funny! A day does not go by that I do not miss the tangible presence of both of my parents.  But every time I think of them, I know they are still with me, urging me to laugh.

I posted some stories about my Mom and her fabulous pranks last year, and I am going to post again my family’s favorite story from that group.  If you wish to read the entire post, link to it here.  If I am ever in need of a little burst of joy – Monday or not – I just think about my Mom.  Here’s some of that for you all:

“The best prank of all time happened on a day I was not present to witness it, but my brother Dick was. He told this story, which occurred many years ago, at her Memorial Service, in which we celebrated her 85 years of life, very appropriately, on April 1, 2001 – 10 years ago today. (She had died on March 28, so the timing was perfect!):

My parents, at the time this particular prank was pulled off, lived in Weston, Connecticut, a suburb and “commuter town” where many who worked in New York City lived. My parents had been chosen by the United Nations to serve as hosts to foreign visitors on occasion, to show them a type of “American Life.” (I would say “typical,” which is probably what the UN intended, however, my folks were far from “typical!”) They hosted gatherings on several occasions, and most often for Japanese visitors, though there were many from other nations. That evening, Mom and Dad were also hosting a couple from England, who were friends of theirs of somewhat long-standing. My recollection is that there were three or four guests from Japan, along with my brother and maybe one or two other people. The table was full. I do not know what she served for dinner that night, but it was NOT meatballs, as she liked to entertain “royally!” As all sat down at their places at the table, Grace was offered, napkins were placed on laps, and food was passed and served on plates. When everyone was served, the guests waited for the signal from my mother, in the role of “Queen,” to begin eating. She picked up her fork and started. As the guests went to pick up their forks, they found they couldn’t, because she had stitched all their flatware to the tablecloth with a clear nylon thread, invisible to the eye (unless you were looking for it, which no one was!). My mother smiled, and for a while, kept on eating, and asked the guests if perhaps they weren’t hungry. Then came the laughter and explanations of this time-honored tradition of April Fool’s Day! Some “typical American Family!” I will add that all the guests had a great time, and a good meal to boot; and once the tradition was explained, scissors appeared, and they could, finally, eat.”

Happy April Fool’s Day, Mom! (It may be a day late, but it’s never too late to have a little fun, right?)   We miss you, “Pearly Gates!”

I wish all of you my Gentle Readers, the abundance of enough. . .

