Tags

, , , , ,

My wonderful and talented husband, Ashley M. Calhoun is an extraordinarily gifted artist and poet.  Before things got away from me yesterday, I had intended on posting one of his poems for one of my daily offerings.  He gave this one to me this morning, and it is perfect for this Sabbath day, Holy Saturday.  I do hope you will enjoy this, as much as I do.  It is a pleasure for me to let Hubs chime in:

Darkest Sabbath.

All creation palls beneath the
Cloak of sorrow
Soaked by a torrent of
Tears undammed.
Unbearable weight.
Grief-constricted throats
Moaning,
Maddened,
Impotent.

The earth groans in
Sympathy
Adding her voice to the
Dolorous lament.
Stone newly hewn
Weeps
For the One so gently,
Hastily laid,
Entombed.

Powers of darkness
Rally;
Lurking, whispering in the
Shadows.
Uncertain,
Wagering on victory,
Sentinels,
Watchful,
Wait.

Ones so loved,
So quickly
Lost,
Cower.
Stunned, aghast,
Breathless.
Embers of faith
Cooling,
Dying.

The Father,
Great heart
Breaking,
Cradled the
Universe,
The day
Hope
Lay Dead.
Darkest Sabbath.

© Ashley M. Calhoun 1985

********************

This is a photo of one of the conference backdrops that Ashley designed and painted for the year 2000.  It is approximately 22.5 feet by 15 feet in size (divided into 5 panels).  It was painted as part of the theme, “Rooted in Christ – Seasons of the Soul.”  It is being used as the backdrop for our worship service tomorrow morning.  I wish you could all join us and about 2,000 others as we gather to celebrate this glorious Easter day!

I wish you all enough. . .

BTW – It’s Saturday. . .but Sunday’s coming!

