Tags

, , , , , ,

Photo: plu.edu

(wc 965)

Because this is “G” day, according to the A to Z April Blogging Challenge, I have decided to incorporate Sidey’s weekend theme with my Challenge obligation, and put a “gee-whiz” spin on her theme!

Gee! Sidey’s Weekend Theme is a bit different this week.  She got us started with more than a word, and owing to the writing wizard, Kate Shrewsday’s, post about a journey through a maze ending in a rather disappointing center, Sidey has decided to cure that disappointment by having us supply a better center to the maze.  She gives us the opening paragraph, and we are to finish it as we choose.  Printed below is Sidey’s intro followed by the prompt (in blue).  I must say, it was an a-maze-ing experience!

Friday, and for us the first day of the Easter Weekend. As it’s a long weekend I think the weekend theme should be a little longer than usual. As is so often the case an earlier exchange has given me the theme.

Kate Shrewsday posted about a maze, and how disappointing the centre was. I postulated that it actually has a trapdoor to an alternate reality.

So here is the start to the theme:

We reached the centre of the maze, somewhat disappointed that it appeared little different from the rest of the maze. Just a small wooden post with a bronze plaque stating “this is the centre, you now have two choices”.  But there was no explanation of what the choices were. Find our way out, stay and starve to death? Maybe those were them, but the lack of skeletons indicated no-one else seemed to have taken the second one.

I looked down, that shoelace had come undone again. These were the most obnoxious laces, always coming undone, even from a double knot. Anyone would think they were alive and seeking freedom.

As I was tying the lace I noticed an odd shape in the ground, a portion of a circle. I kicked at it and the friable soil moved away, disclosing a brass ring, attached by another ring to the round. Some more kicking away of the soil disclosed a wooden trapdoor. We looked at each other. I said “do you suppose this is the second choice?”

“Good guess, Granny!”  my grandson groaned,
And my granddaughter rolled her eyes.
“Since you’re both so smart, you choose!” I said.
I hoped and prayed their choice would be wise.

“We choose adventure!” Garry said with a grin.
“Yeah, Granny!  That’s what we came for!”
Said Gwendolyn, as the reached for the ring
That would open that mysterious door.

I wasn’t keen on following through,
But Garry and Gwendolyn certainly were,
Already climbing down the rickety stairs
That wobbled and had no bannister!

“Please be careful!  Wait for me!”
I pleaded for them to listen.
“It might be dangerous down there,
And remember my condition!”

“Don’t worry, Granny!” They both called up
As I warily made my way down.
They giggled,”No reason for your phobia here!
We don’t see a single clown!”

I felt some better when I reached the bottom,
And my eyes got used to the murky light.
But the odors of dampness and mold and rot
Told me something down here wasn’t right.

“Let’s go back up!” I pleaded with them.
“No, Granny!  There’s another way out!
You told us we could make the choice –
Let’s see what this one’s all about!”

I should have known better, I thought in despair,
As I ruefully told them to lead the way.
“Well, let’s get going,” I said, and added
Your Mom expects us home today!”

“Good grief, Granny!  Golly! Gee whiz!”
The maze-makers just want to scare us!
It’s all in good fun, relax, loosen up!
That trap door is just there to dare us!”

“How do you know they mean us no harm?
How would you know their intention?
And watch how you speak to your Granny!” I said,
“I don’t need your condescension!”

“Yes, Granny.  We’ll be good,” they sighed.
Then a loud rumbling noise had them quaking with fear
“Gosh and Gomorrah! Look, Granny! They’re gone!
The stairs are ruined! Let’s get out of here!”

“Just how do you think we’ll do that?” I asked
But for once they had no answer for me.
So I said, “We can’t turn back now, we have to go on
And hope the way out will be easy to see.”

The next thing we heard was some eerie laughter,
And suddenly the place filled with light.
“Good gracious gollywogs! Who could that be?”
They cried, and I grabbed their hands and squeezed tight.

The source of the laughter soon became clear,
For soon dozens of gnomes stood around us.
Laughing and crowding us, jumping for joy,
“At last, Goody Gumdrops! You found us!”

“We’ve been here forever! That horrible wizard,
The maze-maker, imprisoned us here.”
He said, ‘No escape unless some careless fools
Come down and don’t turn back in fear.'”

“We’ll lead you to the exit that we cannot open,
That only adventuring fools can go through.”
So we followed those gnomes down and up a long hall.
What else were we going to do?

At last we arrived at the door that would take us –
A granny, two grandkids, and dozens of gnomes –
Out of the horrible maze-maker’s trap
To the gnomes’ huts, and us to our homes.

I’m telling this tale, it all happened, believe me!
Ask my grandkids, they’ll prove that it’s true.
The gnomes went home with Garry and Gwendolyn
With no plans to leave, it’s a regular zoo!

The moral of this story is easy to see
When your grandchildren take you through a maze
Give them no choices! Good golly, gee whiz!
You’ll regret it for the rest of your days.

