Tags

, , , , , ,

"The Incredulity of St. Thomas" by Caravaggio

(wc 370)

This week I will be spending with our Zoë.  Instead of my normal meme-posts, I will only be presenting my “A-to-Z Blogging Challenge for April” poems so I can keep up with the challenge.  They will still be written on the fly, but that is the only time I expect to spend on blogging this week! I am certain you will survive.

Today, as it is “Challenge Rest Day,” I am posting for you a poem I wrote some years ago for the first Sunday after Easter.  These are the lyrics to a song, based on John 20: 24-30.

Seven Days Later
© 1990 Paula Tohline Calhoun

Thomas, in the shuttered room, had not seen the risen Lord.
Sorrow, doubts, and nameless fears had crowded out the Word.
Then, in his dark confusion, Christ burst into the gloom,
And silence, light, and holiness filled the upper room.

“My Lord! my God!” he gloried, and upon his knees he cried
Confronted with the Lord he loved, in joy his sorrows died.
The Lord stretched out His hands to Thomas then and said
With love and mercy mingled, as in the blood He’d shed:

“Do you believe because you’ve seen me – my hands, my feet, my side?
Truly I’m the one you seek: Christ, the crucified!
How blessed will be the ones in generations yet to come
Who, with simple faith, believe and make their hearts my home.”

Let us push our doubts aside, and see with open eyes
The One who gave His life for all and won for us the prize,
Who sends the Holy Spirit as Remembrancer and Friend
To guide us through whatever trials or storms this life may send.

Sing praise to God, Creator of all creatures great and small
And to our Savior Jesus Christ Who died to save us all
And to the Holy Spirit Who brings God’s holy fire
To purify us, make us whole, and with new life inspire!

 “How blessed will be the ones in generations yet to come,
Who, with simple faith, believe and make their hearts my home.”

********************

For all of you, my Gentle Readers, I wish you enough. . . 
