Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Some facts just don’t need to be known.  Some facts answer questions that I imagine only one person in the history of the world asked.  So, why, you may ask, do I insist on posting these so-called fabulous facts for you almost every week?  The answer is, “Because that’s what I do.  Someone’s got to – might as well be me.”

1.  The only popcorn museum in the world is located in Marion, Ohio, USA.  Can’t you just imagine the exhibits in that museum?  At first I thought, “Oh!  Marion must be the place Orville Redenbacher was born!  You might be interested to know that I checked this out and found out that, no, Mr. Redenbacher was born in Brazil.  Brazil, Indiana to be exact and lived there and grew popping corn there for the entirety of his lifetime.  So, how the museum ended up in Marion, Ohio is beyond me.  I know for a fact that Paul Newman wasn’t born there, so the mystery remains.  Perhaps I should make a visit to the one and only popcorn museum in the world to get my questions answered.

2.  A leech has 32 brains.  Something else I don’t need to know.  All I can say is I might have only one brain, but I bet it’s bigger than one of theirs.  I hope.

3. Thomas Edison designed a helicopter that would work with gunpowder. It ended up blowing up and also blew up his factory. Good old TAE!  This fact really gives me a laugh.  (My sympathies of course to the families of whoever may have died in the explosion.)  Now I know that invention is a process.  First comes the need, and then the ideas to meet that need, and then comes Thomas Alva Edison, who decides that gunpowder would be a good propellant for a helicopter.  It was a good propellant, alright!  It propelled his factory right off the face of the earth.  I wonder if the whirly-blades spun back down to earth?  And was Sikorsky watching?

4.  Clans of long ago that wanted to get rid of their unwanted people without killing them used to burn their houses down – hence the expression “to get fired.”  Now this is one fact that really does answer an burning question.  Where that phrase came from has been a mystery for the ages.  I guess somewhere in the back of my mind I assumed it was because the boss or personnel director had a lighter or a pack of matches that were reserved for such occasions – a “hot foot” for example.  In an effort to put the flame out, the fired employee ran outside to the nearest source of water, a fountain conveniently placed by the entrance for just such a purpose.  Then the door was locked behind him or her, and that was it.  Message received. The “pink slip” is in the mail.

5. Nearly half of all Americans suffer from symptoms of burnout.  What a perfect fact to follow #4!  (Like I didn’t plan it that way!)  What with unemployment at the levels it has been over the past few years, now we really know why!  Nearly half of all Americans must have been fired – I imagine that is the easiest way to get burned out.

So, my Gentle Readers, there you have it for another week.  Enjoy knowing these things you never needed to know.  Impress your friends.  Force the knowledge on them.  Spread the misery. Until next Friday, this is enough. . .


