Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Sidey’s Weekend Theme is “Colours.”  That’s “Colors” for us “U-less” Americans.  I suppose that makes you Brits “U-ish!”


(NBC’s original Peacock logo – 1957)

I was born near the dawn of the age of television.  Most of my childhood TV-time was spent watching a world of black & white.  It was wonderful – the colors were left to one’s imagination, and it’s worth mentioning that I never wondered what color an actor’s eyes were, or what color the dress was, or if the house was white with red shutters, or green with black shutters.  I just knew.  Everyone did.  We saw what wasn’t shown, and what was not explicit was brilliantly evident in our minds’ eyes.

The novel idea of “Color TV” was born, and day by day, year by year, more and more of  my friends and family were purchasing color TV sets.  Color television was available for many years before my father purchased one for our household.  And each season more and more network programs boasted that they were being presented in “Living Color!” One of the shows that pricked my curiosity about color TV was “Walt Disney’s Wonderful World of Color” – presented by “Proud as a Peacock” NBC. (The program moved there from ABC in 1961.) Have you ever wondered where NBC’s Peacock logo came from?  It was to highlight the introduction of color in their programming.  The peacock would fan out a rainbow of tail feathers – Red, Orange, Yellow, Green, Blue, Indigo, and Violet.  (The animation of the peacock’s actual body and head have been gradually removed from the symbol over the years, but he still struts his colors around the network.)  Each Sunday evening when WDWWOC came on, I wished I could see what that peacock looked like in living color!  When someone said they had gotten a color TV, the first question I asked was, “What does the peacock look like?  Is it beautiful?”

I liked black & white television, (and I still do), but I don’t especially miss it.  I do love to watch old TV re-runs of some of the great B&W shows and see the old movies, made when technicolor wasn’t even dreamed of.  I abhor the whole concept of “colorizing” black and white films. (Shame on you, Ted Turner!) It is as unsatisfactory seeing someone else’s idea of the color of the movie’s images as it is to hear voices added to comic strip characters – like the voices of the “Peanuts” gang on the television specials.  They never sound like what I have always heard in my mind’s ear.  But all in all, color has been a nice addition and enhancement for good programming.

Walt Disney’s Wonderful World of Color was introduced with glorious color images from around the world, and also splashed with color by “Tinkerbell.”  Here is one of the earlier versions of the opening sequence (from 1964).

“The world is a carousel of color,
Wonderful, wonderful color.
The world is a carousel of color,
History, comedy, fantasy,
There’s drama and mirth,
There’s old mother earth
With all of her secrets to see.

The world is a treasure-trove of faces,
Fabulous, faraway places.
The hopes and the fears,
The joys and the tears
Of people like you and like me.
The kingdoms of magic science,
The glorious story of art,
The world of romance,
Of music and dance,
This world where we each play a part.

The miracle of imagination,
The marvels of earth, sea and sky,
These wonders untold
Are ours to behold
In the funny world,
The sunny world,
The wonderful world of color.”
(http://www.lyricsondemand.com/tvthemes/waltdisneyswonderfulworldofcolorlyrics.html)

Thanks for the trip down memory lane, Sidey.  Hope it triggered some happy memories for you, my dear Gentle Readers.  I close with a slideshow of some of my wonderful world of color.

I wish for all of you the abundance of enough. . .

