Tags

, , , , , ,

2. The Veuve Clicquot Yelloween at the Auberge Saint-Gabriel taking place …
ecenglish.com

I heard my door bell ring three times, three times my knocker knocked
then a three-word screech, three times each, from these three things gave me a shock!
The first thing was a witch,
the second thing a bat,
BUT
the third thing was a mystery wearing a tall purple hat!

Since today is Halloween, you all know exactly what they were screeching!
When I opened up my door, the three things’ six greedy hands were eagerly reaching
In my bowl of sweets to eat
Filled for witches and bats
OR
things in tall purple hats, all three screeching “Trick-or-Treat!”

*********************

This was written for “The 2nd Annual Halloweensie Contest” created by Susanna Leonard Hill.

If you want to play along (I was enticed by “Nancy Hatch of “Spirit Lights the Way,” here are the rules:  Write a 100-word Halloween story appropriate for children (title not included in the 100 words), using “Witch” “Bat,”and “Trick-or-Treat.” Your story can be scary, funny, or anything in-between, poetry or prose, but it will only qualify for the contest if it includes those three words, and the word count for the submission 100 words or less. (You can find a good word-count tool here.) Then link your post here.  There you will find the complete information on the contest at Susanna’s blog, and also read about the wonderful prize for the winner!

*********************

Happy Halloween, y’all!  Hope this is enough!. . .

