Tags

, , , , ,

More times than I can count, I have recited this e. e. cummings’ poem:

i thank You God for most this amazing
day: for the leaping greenly spirits of trees
and a blue true dream of sky; and for everything
which is natural which is infinite which is yes

(i who have died am alive again today,
and this is the sun’s birthday; this is the birth
day of life and of love and wings: and of the gay
great happening illimitably earth)

how should tasting touching hearing seeing
breathing any–lifted from the no
of all nothing–human merely being
doubt unimaginable You?

(now the ears of my ears awake and
now the eyes of my eyes are opened)

I have complained bitterly over the past year about a number of things that in the long run are quite insignificant.  Physical pain, emotional pain, grief, frustration.  All of you, my loyal and Gentle Readers, have read it – ad nauseam – and offered your support.  Thank you! I don’t recall receiving one single “Get OFF it, Paula!  You’re the one who always says ‘enough is enough. . .'”  I, of all people, know that “This too shall pass – both the bad and the good.  There are lessons to be learned in everything. Celebrate it all.”

And so today I want you to know that in spite of some of the heart-wrenching sorrow that has been a part of my family’s daily life over the past two years, I am going to take every moment to open my eyes to the magnificent blessings I am offered every day – for free – if I will only see them, and accept them with gratitude.  Most of all, on this day, and every day that follows, “I will thank you God, for most this amazing day!” Today, it is my prayer that on this day of Thanksgiving (American or not!), you will all gather together with whomever you find, and be grateful.  I pray that everyone I see, greet, touch, or encourage will in some way be blessed that I played some part in their lives, however small – that would be the height of joy for me – the great abundance of enough. . .

(I hope you all enjoy this exquisite video, which speaks of the value of daily gratitude far better than I ever could.)

I thank you, God. . .I thank you, God. . .I thank You, God. . .I thank you, God. . .I thank you, God. . .I thank You, God. . .forever and forever.  So be it : Amen!

The Blue Ridge Mountains in North Carolina

