Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

100_0991

Self-Portrait circa 2010

February 11, 2010 I pressed the “publish” button for my very first blog post. It happened to be hosted by a different outfit – “Blogspot” – but it was essentially the same then as it is today.  I would love to say that it has grown by leaps and bounds in terms of readership and quality, but the roller coaster ride of blogging remains much the same as it has always been for me.  Slow, creaking and cranking ascents; exciting, rapid, mind-blowing descents – whether I hang onto the bar or raise my arms in a challenge to gravity.  And then there have been the moments (brief or of extended time-periods) of complete cessation of motion.  Time to let off some riders, time to allow others their chance to buy a ticket.

The ride has not always been wild, nor has it been an unending succession of boredom, (there are brief moments of yawn-free writing occasionally).  This prologue for today has been a way to inform you of my (almost) third anniversary of blogging.  I would love to think that by the end of this month, I will have achieved 50,000 visits.  I’m sort of close, but there are fewer days in February, so this might not be the best month to achieve that goal.  I have readers from 136 countries as of today except those darned Northwest Territories of Canada remain adamant about not visiting me. As I have posted only just over 800 posts in these three years, I make you a solemn pledge.  I will not set a goal of 1,000 by the end of the month.  As hard a it would be for you all, my Gentle Readers, to read all of that, think of how incredibly difficult it would be for Poly.

At this point it is 3:27 a.m., February 2, 2013, EST.  For the remainder of the month I will be reposting some of my personal favorites.  There will be some new stuff as well, but I am fairly certain that my old stuff will be new to most of you – either because you never read it, read it but quickly forgot it, or that some of you will be thrilled that I have re-posted a piece you really, really loved, but could not find in my archives.

Enough of the fanfare.  The following is my very first post.  I received one comment – from a dear and brilliant cousin – which is not my average number, but close!  (What can I expect when I’m such a lousy commenter myself?  But I am still thrilled every time someone takes the time to write a word or two, and I am going to make it part of my February 2013 business to reciprocate more – ooh. . .lucky you!)

Back to the good old days:

BEGINNINGS
February 11, 2010

It seems impossible to me that I would be starting something that would be based on my own reflections, especially since I rarely look in the mirror. I seldom care what I look like, physically, but I have always cared, perhaps too much, about what people thought about me, about who and what I represent. My mother used to ask me: “Paula, if you were accused of being a Christian, would there be enough evidence to convict you?” My answer then, and my answer now is, “Depends on the day.” Each day, however, I try, even guided by my often dim thoughts, (my “cloudy mirror”) to reflect the person I want to be, the person I am, and the individual I was created to be, the three of which frequently diverge radically. The impossibility I refer to is that anyone, other than myself, would be interested! Sometimes even my own interest wanes, and I disappear into the thoughts of other clearer reflective beings. I am a reader and a quoter, as you will discover as the blog unfolds. So, welcome! If you got here by accident, there is always the “X” on the corner of your screen. If you dropped by on purpose, perhaps my reflections will prompt your own, and lead to an interaction. I look forward to it! Look, perceive, pause, reflect, share.

********************

Enough. . .

Happy Groundhog Day!

Happy Groundhog Day!

