Tags

, , , , , ,

"Old soldiers never die. . ." (They just smell that way. :-D)

“Old soldiers never die. . .” (They just smell that way:-D)

I don't have the bonnet yet, and my chair is motorized, but otherwise this is pretty accurate.

I don’t have the bonnet yet, and my chair is motorized, but otherwise this is pretty accurate.

“The President of the United States ordered me to break through the Japanese lines and proceed from Corregidor to Australia for the purpose, as I understand it, of organizing the American offensive against Japan, a primary objective of which is the relief of the Philippines.  I came through and I shall return.”
~~General Douglas A MacArthur, from speech delivered at Terowie, South Australia, after fleeing the Philippines under orders from D.D. Eisenhower, March 20, 1942

“The physicians who are at present directing my care have ordered me to deal directly with the medical and surgical challenges that I face at present, and abandon my computer desk and ailing computer for the purpose, as I understand it, of organizing their own personal agenda of surgery, medications, and general confinement to wheelchair for the foreseeable future, a primary objective of which is the relief of a number of developing medical challenges. I will come through, and I shall return.”
~~Paula Tohline Calhoun, from a transcript of thought of her personal determination, after being restricted from constant writing, editing, photographing, competing in photography challenges, and generalized egregious self-promotion. Dated April 12, 2013 at her husband’s desktop computer at 4:02 a.m.

Those delighted at my absence need not reply.  Those who are waiting with bated breath for my return are invited to leave a comment below.  I have been neither writing nor reading, so a quick synopsis of what is going on in your life would be most welcome.  It is my hope to respond to each as time and my hands allow.  In any event, it is an absolute certainty that eventually, “I shall, (indeed) return.”  And with many tales to tell of a life that has been neither empty nor forlorn.

May all the blessings of abundance continue to shower your life, as it has mine.  I wish you all, as ever, enough. . .

