Tags

, , , , , ,

For dVerse Poets Pub, today’s challenge (hope I’m not too late – I just got the link), we are to write some macro poetry about a macro photograph.  This is one of my favorite photos, because it represented a huge triumph for me.  After watching what I thought were little powder blue butterflies flit around near the ground, I finally decided to try to get a still photo of one.  I really thought that they were all-over powder blue.  Turns out that they are mostly closed-wing butterflies – the Eastern Tailed Blue – and the underside of their wings is pure white with black spots around the edges.  But, if one is patient enough (I was on the ground following this butterfly for well over an hour before I caught him on this clover blossom, opening his wings to reveal the gorgeous brilliant azure blue of the top of his wings.  A holy moment for this photographer, let me tell you, and it definitely deserves a poem.

I discovered after posting this photo and poem that the limit for my poem was 140 characters, and not 140 words.  I have written another poem in keeping with the rules. Instead of erasing the first one, I will leave it here, beneath the new creation.  Which is better, do you think?

20110711_127-002

Photo and poem ©2011 Paula Tohline Calhoun

***********************

She revealed to me what I
did not know to look for.

I did not wait;
she waited for me and opened her heart
to show me the sky on her back.

(140 characters)

***********************

I learned that day
to expect more, rather than
assume less.

I was unprepared for the
sky on her back.
I would not have known such color
rode upon the spectrum of light,
had she not shown me.

It was on purpose, I know,
she revealed herself to me.
She had watched this giant follow her,
in pursuit of more captured light.
I waited to capture the white of her wings.

She knew I had captured that view long ago,
but for me, she settled, for one brief
moment, to exhibit what she had always held
within, and above. I did not wait for her.
She waited for me, and opened her heart
when the time was right.

(118 words)

*******************

I wish for all of you my Gentle Readers, the blessings of enough. . .

