My thanks to all who who are serving or have served in the armed forces. We owe you a great debt. My heart goes out to all those families who lost loved ones in war. They gave the greatest gift. Each Memorial Day and Veteran’s Day, I post this poem, first published three years ago. I hope it holds some meaning and gives you reason to pause and ponder on the sacrifices made on our behalf.

Reflections From a Cloudy Mirror

One Stop Poetry Challenge – the Photography of Fee Easton had five wonderful photographs posted today.  The challenge is to choose one of the photos and write a poem or short fiction about the photo.  The photo above is Option #4.  It really caught my eye, (no pun intended!), and the result is the following poem:

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Lad With Two Good Eyes
© 2011 Paula Tohline Calhoun

When I was a lad I had two good eyes, see –
And there weren’t nothin’ could ever surprise me.
Me Da took me huntin’ for deer and quail –
Hardly a time did my gun an’ me fail.

Wherever I went the lassies would follow,
Somethin’ their laddies found hard to swallow.
But I had a smile, and a winnin’ way –
And t’was a right smart dancer, least that’s what
they’d say.

Never thought much about settlin’ down –
Too…

View original post 342 more words

