Tags

, , , , , ,

(Photo credit: www.frodsham.us)  Jehosaphat's Tomb  I assume he isn't jumpin' here, either. . .

(Photo credit: http://www.frodsham.us) Jehosaphat’s Tomb I assume he isn’t jumpin’ here, either. . .

On April 11, 2012, I posted, for the “J” day of that  “alphabetic post-a-day” month, about “Jumpin’Jehosaphat,” a particular phrase that came immediately to mind when thinking of the letter “J.” Never in a million years would I have imagined or thought that that little rather “off – the – cuff” post would become, by far, the most frequently read of all 915 (so far) of my posts here on RFACM. Get this: as of 12:30 P.M., EDT on Novemer 1, 2014, there have been (drum roll please) 7,337 clicks on that post!. Coming in just after Wikipedia, it is the #2 on the search list on Google.

I know that number is not high compared to stats in most other blogs, but since the next most “clicked on” post of mine, entitled “In Our End is Our Beginning, ” has been viewed a mere 1,844 times; well, that’s quite a jump, is it not?

It is evident that many people are interested in the origins of the euphemism “Jumpin’ Jehosaphat!” However, once they click on it and arrive at my post, it appears they do not stay for long, or they read and move on. I could have told them and saved them the research time: the reason my post ranks so high on Google is because there is very little else to find. I wish them well on their term paper and wonder how often I have been quoted (I’m some expert!), or even copied, in junior high school or high school term papers. As far as my etymological posts are concerned, plagiarism is a small matter to me. My poetry is another matter altogether.

The most commented upon post is a different one completely:  “An Explanation,” in which I tell the story about the miraculous and life-changing gift of my DSLR camera. That post has, to date, garnered 58 comments, followed by two of my children’s story-poems, “Walking Each Other Home,” with 46, and “Packing My Bag,” with 43.

So why am I telling you all this? For one, I had to see what the count on “JJ” was, because I have noticed that for the past several months, not a single day has gone by in which at least one click on that post has been made. It has a few times been the only reason I was not “zeroed out” during my recent extended absence from the blogosphere.

Another reason, beyond mere curiosity, is I wondered if there was a correlation between number of clicks and number of comments. In my case, absolutely not. But the numbers do suggest that more poetry by me is wanted, particularly children’s story-poems. I have been sort of thinking about telling more stories about “The Enormous Bedazzled Pink Flat-Footed Toad.”  I will tackle that, perhaps, when I have finished up with “NaNoWriMo.”

I would love to hear about your most-clicked posts, and the correlation, if any, between clicks and comments. It might be revealing to you as it most certainly has been for me. Rest assured, my Gentle Readers, that you all have at least one reader in me, and because my comment time is limited, you will find, from me at least, that there is no correlation between clicks and comments. I enjoy all of your posts.  Each and every one!

Posts, clicks, comments, the whole shebang, it is absolutely enough. . .

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

P.S. At 3:30 P.M. the number has jumped to 7,340.

At 10:30 P.M. the number is now at 7,348.

At 12:00 P.M. on November 2, the number is now 7,356.  Will this madness ever end??  😆

