Tags

, , , , , ,

Here are a couple of recent poems of mine. The first is my first attempt at what is a,new poetic form for me – a terzanelle.  You can pprobably figure out the form requirements for this type, but I will tell you what they are anyway.

It has nineteen lines written as five 3-line stanzas, followed by a quatrain. The rhyme scheme for each stanza is:  ABA, bBC, cDC, dED, eFE, fAFA. The final four-line stanza can also be written as fFAA.  The greatest challenge in forms that use repetition, is to have the repeated lines vary in meaning, i.e., asking a question, or answering a question, or making a declaration. In any event, my experiment here is somewhat successful. I look forward to growing in skill.

A Turning Point

I remember the day I wanted to leave,
to walk out, and close the door behind me.
I remember the day I wanted to leave.

I’d take nothing to remind me–
exhaustion was my overriding reason,
to walk out, and close the door behind me.

Many would have called it treason,
to leave without another thought.
Exhaustion was my overriding reason.

It was a quiet peace I sought.
How could I put an end to caring,
to leave without another thought!

But on the clothes that I was wearing
was the residue of home and laughter.
How could I put an end to caring?

Of all that happened that day and after,
I remember the day I wanted to leave.
As I thank God for home and laughter,
I remember the day I wanted to leave.

(I copied and pasted this from my All Poetry site, which accounts for the differences in type-style. )

For a definite change of pace, not to mention a change from fact to fiction, here is a humorous entry I made in a contest at All Poetry. The challenge was to write a rhyming poem of 100 words or less using the photo below as a prompt.

298

If any of you have your own idea for this, I would love to see it. In the meantime, here is mine, entitled Keyoard Follies:

I once once worked as a lowly clerk 
for the much-revered Pastor Aussi, 
Who complained with irreverent vitriol 
about my “damned typing accuracy!” 
I told him quite clearly, not in the least dearly, 
that he had a lot of gall 
to demand that I type out his sermons using 
his ill-concieved keyboard ball!

I have missed visiting with you folks lately! Hope all is well in your neck of the woods. Take good care of yourselves and one another. I’ll be back soon enough. . .

